Monday memes for book lovers #2

Happy half term to all teachers, parents and children out there!! How many of you are ready for a week to relax and not think about school work? I know I am! I'm hoping to read a bit more this holiday (obviously evenings as the little one won't allow such luxuries as reading!) With that in mind here is my weekly Monday meme to share some book love with you all!


Mailbox Monday

Warning this can lead to envy! This meme is hosted by Mailbox Monday and is for readers to share the books that came in the mailbox during the last week. I have only had one book in the post this week which was my next book club read from @Nicolasbooknook. We read Usborne books so they are generally young adult. The pick for March is The Extinction trials by S.M Wilson. It is billed as The hunger games meets Jurassic Park, which just sounds immense to me! I am very excited to read it.



What makes this post extra special is that it comes with chocolate and a bookmark ❤️ thanks Nicola.


If anyone is interested in joining our book club you can follow this link to Nicolas Facebook page, we are completing the meetings via zoom so anyone can join!


ARCStravaganza


Hosted by Flavia the bibliophile this meme celebrates all the fabulous ARCs that have landed on your doorstep/appeared on your kindle over the last week. I mean lets be honest, that has to be one of the best bits about being a blogger!! I have received some super exciting pre-releases this week.


I was just approved by #Netgalley for You and Me on Vacation by Emily Henry. I have seen this book all over social media and my Netgalley groups this last month so I was very excited when I was approved for it!

Two summer friends. Ten summer trips. Their last chance to fall in love.

Described as a love story for fans of When Harry Met Sally and One day, I couldn’t resist! Due to be published in July 2021 this is set to be a great summer read!



I received this ARC from Book Sirens. Fear of flying by debut author Kate Allen due to be released on 30th March 2021 this looks set to be a really lovely heart warming read.


Synopsis

A coming of age story.

Liv has lost everything. She now has no family, no college education, no direction, and no plan. Well, she does have a plan - to dull her pain with alcohol and pull herself together long enough to make a trip to Scotland to scatter her aunt’s ashes. A chance encounter on the flight to Europe leads to a lasting friendship that Liv comes to rely on above all else. But as Liv grapples with the tragedies of her past, is there room in her broken life for another person?


Goodreads Monday

So here is my pick from my goodreads TBR this week.



Last one at the party by Bethany Clift


While this book might not be to everyone's taste due to the current global pandemic situation I have seen it being reviewed all over the place and it has been shown a lot of love. Set amidst a global pandemic of its own one woman has survived a deadly virus and is now seemingly the only woman left on the planet. I myself love dystopian novels where a different future life is imagined by the author. While this one may be a little more close to home it is not the first to explore life after a global outbreak and it won't be the last. I will certainly be trying to get my hands on a copy.


Synopsis

THE END OF EVERYTHING WAS HER BEGINNING


It's November 2023. The human race has been wiped out by the 6DM virus (Six Days Maximum - the longest you've got before your body destroys itself). The end of the world as we know it.


Yet someone is still alive. Alone in a new world of burning cities, rotting corpses and ravenous rats, one woman has survived. A woman who has spent her whole life compromising what she wants and hiding how she feels to meet other people's expectations. From her career to her relationships, to what she wears and where she lives, she's made a lifetime of decisions to fit what other people want her to be.


But with no one else left, who will she become now that she's completely alone?




So I hope you have enjoyed reading about my book joy to week.


Did anything in particular jump out at you?


What books are you most excited about this week?


I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments!


Have a great week everyone. Speak soon.















13 views0 comments